Never-ending pain…   3 comments

How quickly our perceptions become relative to the crisis we’re currently in. Yesterday, GP had a better day. What does “better” really entail? In this case, it means that GP did not have screaming, writhing, begging for help, longer than two minutes, episodes of pain. He DID have regular ‘ice-pick’ pain and as the day wore on, 2 epics of less than two minutes each. So, “better” meant that he still dealt with constant pain in his ear, a headache (we think this results from the condition of constant pain or from allergies caused by the wind and springtime), and stabbing electrical shocks. This is not normal!

He described his pain to me the other day in this way. “The constant pain is like someone threw an ice pick in my ear and it is still sitting there. There is a ring of pain around the ice pick. Then, when the stabs come, it is like someone poured a chemical on that ring that makes it explode into way more pain, going up in fire around that same ring. Instead of just the constant ring, it is a column of exploding fire in a ring shape. Then it goes back down to the ring around the ice pick.” I cannot imagine this. I dare not imagine it when I am with him. It is only when I am not in the same house with him that the grief and fear and desperation come out. This is scary and awful!

God’s love is meteoric,

his loyalty astronomic,

His purpose titanic,

his verdicts oceanic.

Yet in his largeness

nothing gets lost;

Not a man, not a mouse,

slips through the cracks.

Psalm 36:5-6 (The Message)

Posted April 29, 2011 by broshaker in The Story Overview

3 responses to “Never-ending pain…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pain! We can’t live with it and we can’t live without it! Thanks for his graphic explanations. They help me when I pray for him and you. When I was very little and sick and my mom asked me how I felt I told her it felt like there was a merry go round inside my throat. Bless the children Lord and please end GP’s trial. And David and Laurin’s

  2. Your words are encouraging to us and i am sure, everyone reading, to keep our eyes up no matter what!! And our “no matter what’s” can not compare to your situation right now. I am being challenged to lighten up and chill out with life’s daily grind, and enjoy moments with my family more. So many things I stress about are so unimportant. Not much really is!! But what is, really is!! Many prayers and much love to you all!!

  3. Laurin, Thank you for your posts. You have this way of articulating everything that is going on…the pain, the fear, the dread–but in it all I see that the Holy Spirit is your comforter and that He is at work through you to bless your little boy during this incredible trying time. Love and hugs to you and your family!

    GP! Every morning when I wake up and every night when I lay down again, I pray for you to have better days ahead. Know that you are loved, prayed for and thought of often by your old teacher!

Leave a Reply

