Thankful and Hopeful…   5 comments

Yes, this is the third full day of no pain for GeorgePaul. This is such an incredible respite for GP and for the rest of us! I watched from the window yesterday as he ran out to the jeep to greet his dad as he came home from work. It was a simple, yet profound moment. He couldn’t do this before! His dogs are overjoyed to see their boy again as the rest of us have only been substitutes for GP in the past months when he couldn’t go outside.

We believe that God has directed us and will continue to show us the way to help GeorgePaul. We thank Him for every precious moment of pain-free time, and we trust Him for the future.

The last time that GP had a period of no ear pain, it lasted 19 days. He dealt with some throbbing headaches for the first few days of that 19 day period, and that pattern was repeated this week as well. His first episode of right ear pain lasted 49 days. Here is a quote from a medical journal:

“Trigeminal neuralgia (TN) is a condition associated with unpredictable attacks of excruciating pain that typically require medical and/or surgical intervention. A study that appeared in Annals of Neurology in January of 1990 (Vol. 27, Issue 1: pp.89-95.) Their findings included: Individual episodes lasted from one day to four years with the average duration 49 days.”

This second episode of ear pain lasted 49 days. Please pray with us that the pattern will not be repeated!

Posted June 2, 2011 by broshaker in The Story Overview

5 responses to “Thankful and Hopeful…

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Oh my, I had no idea this was going on GP. My heart is breaking for you. I have not cried in 7+ years and I am sobbing in a hotel lobby right now. I will be on my knees daily for you and I will also be fasting and asking for a miracle. I love and miss you so much GP and I am sorry I am so far away and can’t be their for you and take you fishin and go shootin with ya. I love all the memories I have with you and I can’t wait to make more in the future.

    cody carothers
  2. Rejoicing in the relief of pain and praying that this isn’t part of the cycle, but is a complete healing.

    So happy you’re feeling good GP. Love you!

  3. It was soooo good to see you today at the fifth grade breakfast!!!!!! We praise the Lord with you at every moment you are pain free!! I love your new haircut – it looks great on you!! As for the 49 days…wow…I don’t believe there are any coincidences…I think that God is using you to bring others to Christ, GP…and you are doing an amazing job!!! We will be praying daily that this cycle does not continue. May the Lord bless you all for your faithfulness and your willingness to bring all honor and glory to Him both in times of suffering and in times of joy! We are so blessed to be able to call you friends!!

    Shannon Sanchez
  4. Wow Days pain free not hours, how cool. My faith stays strong that God is working miracles here. I’m glad I don’t know the how’s or the why’s, but that I know the Beardsleys. you guys are truly awesome and I will be praying with you.

  5. WHAT????!!! You were on campus and I DIDN’T GET TO SEE YOU????!!! O.k. That’s the extent of me ‘chewing you out’! I am so happy that you were able to come and see old friends today and enjoy some time being a KID! It is probably a good thing you didn’t come to see me because I was out of Kleenex! I used the last one after your mom left! GP! I hope that you will continue to have many more carefree summer days–painfree–and filled with lots of wonderful family memories! I will continue to lift you up in prayer–daily! X’s and gentle O’s and extra prayers of thanksgiving being lifted up for you today!

Leave a Reply

